MTV VMA 2018

MTV VMA 2018: MTV Video Music Awards This year’s presents one of the tightest races in years with the likes of Childish Gambino, Cardi B, and The Carters (aka Beyoncé and Jay-Z) all vying for a Moonman.

MTV VMA 2018 Live

The occasionally controversial and always unpredictable MTV Video Music Awards will be presented Monday night at New York’s Radio City Music Hall.

From Beyoncé and Cardi B to J-Lo and Jay-Z, here’s what we know about the Moonman trophies, tributes and must-watch performances in the works.

Broadcast live from New York’s Radio City Music Hall on 20 August, the ceremony has a reputation for the occasional controversy, meaning there could be some shock moments and surprises in store this year.

The show will feature performances by Nicki Minaj, Travis Scott, Ariana Grande, Post Malone, Shawn Mendes, Panic! at the Disco, and more. Cardi B will open the show. Jennifer Lopez is this year’s Video Vanguard Award winner.

Last year’s VMAs were hosted by Katy Perry. (This year’s ceremony does not have a host.) Kendrick Lamar started off the show with a fiery ninja-filled performance and took home the award for Video of the Year (for “HUMBLE.”) The show also featured performances from Miley Cyrus, Logic, Katy Perry and Nicki Minaj, and more.

Follow all of Pitchfork’s coverage of the 2018 MTV Video Music Awards.

MTV collaborated with Instagram to reveal the nominees on IGTV, marking the first time an awards show has used the new platform in this capacity. Beginning today, fans can vote across eight VMA categories, including Video of the Year, Artist of the Year, Best Collaboration and more by visiting until Friday, August 10. Voting for the “Best New Artist” award, presented by Taco Bell, will remain active until the VMA broadcast.

Radio City Music Hall was the home of the inaugural “VMAs” in 1984 and this will mark the 12th time the show has been held there – the most for any VMAs location. Official sponsors include PEPSI, Swiffer and Taco Bell. Bruce Gillmer and Jesse Ignjatovic are executive producers, Melanie Block serves as executive in charge of production, Amani Duncan is executive in charge of music and Wendy Plaut is executive in charge of celebrity talent.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *